September 18 (Sun) - 23 (Fri), 2022

Busan, Korea

Plenary and Keynote Speakers

Monday, 10-12, Room 301: Welcome Ceremony and Opening Plenary

Time Title Speakers
10:00-10:05 Opening Announcement Moderator Sori Moon
10:05-10:25 Welcome Message 1 Cho Seung-hwan, ROK MOF Minister
Welcome Message 2 Park Heong-Joon, ROK Busan City Mayor
Welcome Message 3 Han Gijun, ROK KOEM CEO
10:25-10:35 NOAA Welcome Remarks Video message by Dr. Richard W. Spinrad, United States
Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator
10:35-10:45 IMO Congratulatory Remarks Video message by Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization (IMO)
10:45-10:55 Celebrity Message 1 Message from K-POP group, Stray Kids (video message)
Celebrity Message 2 Message from Korean actress, Jin Hee Park (in person)
10:55-11:10 Keynote Address Kristal Ambrose, Bahamas Plastic Movement
11:10-11:20 Commemorative Photo/Stage changing

Multi-stakeholder Dialogue on Plastic Pollution and Marine Debris

Moderator: Tessa Goverse, UNEP

1) Ms Maria Angela O. Ponce, Head of Delegation, Maritime and Oceans Affairs Assistant Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs, Philippines

2) Ms. Nanette Laure, Director General of the Waste Enforcement and Permit Division, Ministry of Agriculture, Climate Change and Environment of the Seychelles

3) Christopher Corbin, Coordinator of the Secretariat of the Cartagena Convention, Caribbean Environment Programme

4) Raelene Martine, Head of Sustainability, International Chamber of Commerce (online)

12:25-12:30 Plenary Closing Moderator Sori Moon

Wednesday, 11-12, Room 301: 7IMDC Marine debris science and research panel

This plenary session will focus on the science and research of marine debris and feature a diverse panel of experts from different global regions. The panel will discuss recent critical research findings and advancements in marine debris science and understanding, as well as share opinions on priorities for future research.

Panel Moderator: Ms. Nancy Wallace, Director of the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Marine Debris Program


1) Dr. Won Joon Shim, of Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology

2) Ms. Daniela Honorato-Zimmer, Universidad Católica del Norte, Chile

3) Dr. Bethanie Carney-Almroth, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

4) Dr. Eric Okuku, Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute

The panel will be soliciting audience questions that 7IMDC attendees can vote on to be addressed during the session.

Friday, 10-12, Room 301: Closing Plenary

Time Title Speakers
10:00~10:05 Opening announcement Moderator Sori Moon
10:05~10:20 Keynote address Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization (IMO)
10:20~11:40 Industrial Dialogue

1) Martyn Tickner, Chief Advisor of Alliance to End Plastic Waste

2) Rosa Pritchard, ClientEarth

3) Melisa Lim, Programme Management Officer, Basel, Rotterdam, Stockholm Conventions

4) Stewart Harris, Senior Director for Global Plastics Policy, American Chemical Society

5) Ms. Dharshani Lahandapura, Chairperson, Marine Environment Protection Authority

11:40~11:50 7IMDC summary Tessa Goverse, UNEP
11:50~12:00 Closing Remarks Song, Sang-Keun, ROK MOF Vice Minister

Subscribe to mailing list top